# CHAIRMEN, VICE-CHAIRMEN AND MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES 2012-13

### **Environment Select Committee**

(19 Members: 16 Conservative, 2 Labour, 1 Liberal Democrat)

Chairman: Cllr. Bosley

Vice-Chairman: Cllr. Grint

Cllrs. Abraham, Ayres, Mrs. Bayley, Butler, Ms. Chetram, Cooke, Mrs. Dibsdall, Edwards-Winser, Eyre, London, Maskell, Orridge, Mrs. Purves, Mrs. Sargeant, Scholey, Searles and Williamson

#### Services Select Committee

(19 Members: 16 Conservative, 3 Labour)

Chairman: Cllr. Davison

Vice-Chairman: Cllr. Brown

Cllrs. Abraham, Mrs. Ayres, Ayres, Ball, Mrs. Dibsdall, Edwards-Winser, Fittock, Mrs. George, Hogarth, Horwood, Neal, Mrs. Parkin, Pett, Piper, Raikes, Scholey and Towell.

### Social Affairs Select Committee

(19 Members: 17 Conservative, 1 Labour, 1 Liberal Democrat)

Chairman: Cllr. Mrs. Cook

Vice-Chairman: Cllr. Ms. Lowe

Cllrs. Ball, Bosley, Brookbank, Butler, Ms. Chetram, Eyre, Firth, Mrs. George, Horwood, Maskell, Neal, Mrs. Purves, Raikes, Searles, Miss. Stack, Miss. Thornton and Towell.

#### Performance and Governance Committee

(14 Members: 12 Conservative, 1 Labour, 1 Liberal Democrat)

Chairman: Cllr. Fittock

Vice-Chairman: Cllr. Walshe

Cllrs. Mrs. Bayley, Clark, Mrs. Cook, Davison, Dickins, Firth, Gaywood, Grint, Hogarth, London, McGarvey and Piper

## Modern Local Government Group

(10 Members: 8 Conservative, 1 Labour, 1 Liberal Democrat)

Cllrs. Mrs. Bracken, Brookbank, Mrs. Cook, Mrs. Davison, Fittock, Fleming, Mrs. Hunter, Piper, Scholey and Walshe

(Please note the election of the Chairman will take place at the first meeting of the Committee in the municipal year.)

### **Development Control Committee**

(19 Members: 17 Conservative, 1 Labour, 1 Liberal Democrat)

Chairman: Cllr. Mrs. Dawson

Vice-Chairman: Cllr. Williamson

Cllrs. Mrs. Ayres, Brookbank, Brown, Clark, Cooke, Davison, Dickins, Gaywood, McGarvey, Ms. Lowe, Orridge, Mrs. Parkin, Piper, Scholey, Miss. Thornton, Underwood and Walshe.

#### **Standards Committee**

(7 District Council Members (4 Conservative, 2 Labour, 1 Liberal Democrat) + 5 independent {non-Councillor}, 5 (parish/town council representatives))

Cllrs. Ball, Mrs. Bracken, Mrs. Dibsdall, Dickins, Eyre, Mrs. Purves and Underwood.

Independent Members: Mr. J. Henderson, Mr. K. Newman, Mr. J. Reece. Mr. A. Riddell and Mr. A. Smith.

Town/Parish Council Representatives: Mr. T. Austin, Mrs. S. Dickinson, Mr. R. House, Mr. R. Parry, and Mr. D. Taylor.

(Please note that a meeting of Standards Committee cannot take place without the presence of one of the independent (non-councillor) Members and one of the parish/town council representatives. Therefore the election of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman will take place at the first meeting of the Committee in the municipal year.)

#### **Appointments Committee**

(10 Members: 8 Conservative, 1 Labour, 1 Liberal Democrat)

Cllrs. Brown, Mrs. Cook, Fittock, Fleming, Gaywood, Walshe + 4 appropriate Portfolio Holders

(Please note the election of the Chairman will take place at the first meeting of the Committee in the municipal year.)

# **Electoral Arrangements Committee**

(10 Members: 9 Conservative, 1 Labour)

Cllrs. Mrs. Bayley, Bosley, Brookbank, Mrs. Clark, Mrs. Davison, Fleming, Grint, Mrs. Hunter, Ms. Lowe and Mrs. Sargeant.

(Please note the election of the Chairman will take place at the first meeting of the Group in the municipal year.)

# Sevenoaks Joint Transportation Board

(7 District Council Members: (6 Conservative, 1 Labour), 7 Kent Council Council Members and 1 Town/Parish Council Representative)

Chairman: County Cllr. Parry

Vice-Chairman: Cllr. James London

(The position of Chairman is on a yearly alternate basis between the District Council and County Council and appointed under respective constitutional arrangements. This year it is the County Council's turn.)

District Council Membership: Cllrs. Mrs. Davison, Edwards-Winser, Searles, Towell, Underwood and Williamson.

County Council Membership: County Councillors: Brazier, Brookbank, Chard, Gough, Lake and John London.

Town/Parish Council Representative: Cllr. Robson (nominated by the Area Committee of the Kent Association of Local Councils)

(The Board comprises of all Kent County Council local members for divisions in the Sevenoaks District Council area, an equal number of Sevenoaks District Council Members and a Town/Parish Council Representative (of which a substitute member may be nominated) who may speak but not vote, nor propose a motion or amendment.)

# **Licensing Committee**

(15 Members: 13 Conservative, 1 Labour, 1 Liberal Democrat)

Chairman: Cllr. Pett

Cllrs. Abraham, Mrs. Ayres, Ayres, Clark, Cooke, Davison, Mrs. Dawson, Fittock, Hogarth, Orridge, Mrs. Parkin, Piper, Raikes and Walshe.

# Homelessness Review Board

(3 Members: to be drawn from the Council)

The Portfolio Holder for Housing and Balanced Communities to be Chairman of the Board and the membership to be drawn from the Council.

# Locality Board

(14 Members: 7 District Council Cabinet Members and 7 Kent County Council Members)

Chairman: Cllr. Fleming

Vice Chairman: County Cllr. Brookbank

(The position of Chairman to be the Leader of Sevenoaks District Council, with the Vice Chairman appointed by Kent County Council. Leader has delegated authority to rotate/amend the District Council Membership as appropriate )

District Council Membership: Cllrs. Mrs. Bosley, Ms. Chetram, Clark, Davison, Ramsay and Searles.

County Council Membership: County Councillors: Brazier, Chard, Gough, Lake, John London and Parry.